The 2008 Sunbeam Rally organised by the Marston Sunbeam Register took place on Sunday 6th July at the Royal Air Force Museum, Cosford. Unfortunately it turned out to be one of the wettest days of the summer with frequent and heavy showers, which luckily didn’t spoil the event. In spite of the heavy showers first thing in the morning, 18 Sunbeam motorcycles, one A.J.S. motorcycle, several Sunbeam bicycles and their owners, came to the event.

Mark Homer arrives on his Sunbeam Lion from 1932.

It’s a good venue for the rally under such poor conditions because there are a great many undercover exhibits to see at the museum, along with excellent food in the Visitor Centre, and admission is free.

As usual Trevor Davies ably organised the day, assisted by Derek Beddows, Audrey Spencer and other members of the Register.

Many of the motorcycles and several bicycles were taken on a local run which was thoroughly enjoyed by all who took part, even though there were several heavy showers at the time.

Several regulars brought their machines along including Alan Jones with his Sunbeam Longstroke, Archie Beggs with his model 90, Tom Bates with his Sunbeam model 1, Jeff Westwood with his model 9, and Liz Butler and her Ladies Royal Sunbeam.

Ex-Sunbeam employee George Peck was there and thoroughly enjoyed the day, and Ray Jones, the expert on all things to do with locally made vehicles, rode his A.J.S. 1927 ‘Big Port’ to the event.

Archie Beggs, Les Hobbs, and Stephen Constable get ready for their ride.

As usual prizes were given for different categories and were handed out by George Peck. They were as follows:

The Ken Green award for the best motorcycle combination went to Mark Homer for his Sunbeam Lion from 1932.

The Glynne Morris award for the most desirable bicycle went to Terry Wilson for his Golden Sunbeam from 1906.

The Walter Iliff award for the highest combined age of machine and rider also went to Terry Wilson for a combined age of 168 years.

The George Peck award for the best saddle tank went to John Walker for his Sunbeam model 9 from 1930.

The Cyril Wakeman award for the best flat tank went to Tom Bates for his model 1 from 1927.

The George Dance award for the best competition motorcycle went to Steve Constable for his model 90 from 1932.

The Jeff Brazendale award for the machine ridden furthest to the event went to John Walker and his model 9 from 1930. The prize, kindly donated by Trevor Davies was appropriately a bottle of Johnnie Walker whisky.

The most desirable motorcycle award went to Archie Beggs for his Sunbeam model 90 from 1928.

Some of machines on view.

The weather didn’t dampen anyone’s spirits and a very enjoyable day was had by all. Old friends had a chance to meet, and the usual warm and friendly atmosphere prevailed.

At the end, the decision was taken to hold next year’s event at the same venue, which had proved to be ideal.

Finally, thanks must go to everyone involved in organising and running the event.



1. Entries
2. Personalities and prizes

Return to the
list of rallies