Early chalk and pencil drawing, Circa 1830’s – 1840’s, with Theodosia Hinckes?

‘This exciting, beautiful and unique piece of Gothic Victorian architecture was entirely vandalised in 1969 – demolished by the builders who constructed the estate that centres on Woodcote Road’, so commented the late John Raven in his book on Tettenhall.

The Woodhouse estate occupied a site bounded by Wood Road; Grange Road; Regis Road and Long Lake. It was assembled by the Hinckes family using a smaller and earlier house with its grounds; plus additional land acquired from the Wightwick Family; land from The Grange; parts of the enclosed Tettenhall Wood Common; and others: the total was approximately 91 acres and formed part of their total landholding of approximately 390 acres.

Return to the
Tettenhall menu
  Return to the
articles menu
  Proceed to
Hinckes Family